Sharjah tourism logo

Sharjah's local currency is the Dirham with a fixed exchange rate AED 3.67 to USD $1

Local currency

The currency of Sharjah is the dirham (Dhs), also known as the Arab Emirate Dirham (AED), which is divided into 100 fils. Notes come in denominations of 1,000, 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5, and coins include AED 1, 50 fils and 25 fils. The dirham is pegged to the US dollar, and the exchange rate is fixed at USD $1 = AED 3.67. All major credit cards can be used in Sharjah, and automatic teller machines (ATMs) are found in banks, shopping malls and some hotels. Souks, markets and smaller shops usually only accept cash.

Currency exchange

Foreign currency and traveller’s cheques can be exchanged at banks and exchange houses, which are found at Sharjah International Airport and around the city. The latter offer better rates than banks and are generally open from Saturday to Thursday from 8:30am to 1pm and 4:30pm to 8:30pm (although some stay open all day and on Friday afternoons).

Value-added tax

Starting on 1 January 2018, all goods and services are subject to a 5% value-added tax (VAT) included in the displayed price. The feasibility of a Tourist Refund Scheme is being considered; however, at present visitors cannot claim this tax back. 

Sharjah Tourism Travel Quiz